Outback Events

Central West

The epitome of outback Queensland can be seen in the towns of the Central West. Names like Barcaldine, Longreach, Winton, Boulia, Birdsville and Bedourie all scream uniquely outback. This is adventure country.

Thu, 26 Apr 18 - Mon, 30 Apr 18

The Tree of Knowledge Festival

Celebrating Barcaldine’s colourful past and the beautiful town it is today are several events and activities that together make up The Barcaldine Tree Of Knowledge Festival.

Barcaldine

Sat, 28 Apr 18 - Mon, 30 Apr 18

Longreach Outback Drover’s Reunion

Drovers reunion in Longreach an event not to be missed.

Longreach

Fri, 11 May 18 - Sat, 12 May 18

Barcaldine Show

The Barcaldine Show - a fun filled day for all the family

Barcaldine

Sat, 12 May 18 - Sun, 13 May 18

Birdsville Bronco Branding and Camp Draft

Events are designed to display precise, controlled actions and tight teamwork between horse and rider.

Birdsville

Sun, 20 May 18 - Fri, 01 Jun 18

Harry Redford Cattle Drive

Sadly the Harry Redford Cattle Drive has been cancelled for 2016 due to the ongoing drought in outback Queensland.

Aramac

Sat, 02 Jun 18

Landsborough Flock Ewe Show

Landsborough Flock Ewe Show - first Saturday of June each year: sheep and wool judging, cattle displays, trade displays, ladies pavilion, shopping, activities for kids plus dinner and entertainment.

Muttaburra

Fri, 06 Jul 18 - Sun, 08 Jul 18

Bedourie Campdraft and Gymkhana

See some of the outback’s fine horsemanship over two days of events for the whole family.

Bedourie

Tue, 10 Jul 18 - Thu, 12 Jul 18

Birdsville Big Red Bash

A bucket-list event with some of the biggest names in Australian music to perform in the desert at the iconic Big Red sand hill Birdsville

Birdsville

Fri, 13 Jul 18 - Sat, 14 Jul 18

Winton QBOA Opal Festival

The Queensland Boulder Opal Association’s Winton Opal Festival brings together miners, buyers, retailers, exporters, jewellers and the public in a social atmosphere to trade, sell and admire Australia’s national gemstone.

Winton

Sat, 14 Jul 18

Bedourie Camel Races

Part of the Western Queensland Camel Festival - Bedourie, Boulia & Winton
Bedourie Camel races kick off the Camel Racing Festival - saddle up for 3 weeks of fun and festivities in the Queensland outback.

Bedourie

Fri, 20 Jul 18 - Sun, 22 Jul 18

Boulia Camel Races

Part of the Western Queensland Camel Festival - Bedourie, Boulia & Winton
Boulia Camel Races are the second exciting weekend of the festival not to be missed.

Boulia

Fri, 27 Jul 18 - Sun, 29 Jul 18

Winton Camel Races

Part of the Western Queensland Camel Festival - Bedourie, Boulia & Winton
Winton Camel racing may be the last on the Western Queensland Camel Festival Calendar but make no mistake, it holds a great tradition in the bush and the Winton races have something for everyone.

Winton

Sat, 18 Aug 18 - Sun, 19 Aug 18

Stonehenge Bronco Branding, Rodeo & Gymkhana

Bronco Branding, Rodeo & Gymkhana action at its finest

Stonehenge

Sat, 25 Aug 18 - Sun, 26 Aug 18

Betoota Cup Raceday

A fun weekend of Racing at one of the Outback’s most unique towns.

Betoota

Fri, 31 Aug 18 - Sat, 01 Sep 18

Birdsville Races

Welcome to Birdsville, home to the Birdsville Pub and those famous outback horse races

Birdsville

Fri, 07 Sep 18 - Sat, 08 Sep 18

Bedourie Races & Rodeo

Part of the famed Simpson Desert Racing Carnival - follow on from the Birdsville Races

Bedourie

Sat, 08 Sep 18

Bedourie Ute & Travellers’ Muster

The Bedourie Ute & Travellers Muster combines with the Bedourie Races and Rodeo for an absolute fun weekend.

Bedourie