Outback Events

Outback North

The gulf country is renowned for its Barramundi, seafood and the “tin hare” (Gulflander rail motor) Further south it’s Hughie & Mutt at Hughenden, The Isa & Qantas’ birth place. Stir in Dirt & Dust, Merry Muster and a dozen other festivals & you’ll have a rip – roaring time in the outback north.

Fri, 29 Sep 17 - Sun, 01 Oct 17

Morning Glory Festival

Celebrating the unique cloud formations in the Gulf of Carpentera

Burketown

Fri, 29 Sep 17 - Sun, 01 Oct 17

Wallaby Creek Festival

A three day festival celebrating music & the arts.

Cooktown

Sat, 07 Oct 17 - Sat, 21 Oct 17

Torimba Festival Ravenshoe

  Torimba promotes Ravenshoe’s heritage as a former timber town as well as marketing the area for tourists

Ravenshoe

Thu, 19 Oct 17 - Sun, 22 Oct 17

Savannah Guide School

Savannah Guides Schools are held each year at varying locations across the top of Australia.

Georgetown

Fri, 27 Oct 17 - Sun, 29 Oct 17

Lake Moondarra Fishing Classic

Non-stop fishing action, yabby races, casting competitions, live entertainment, activities for the kids and more!

Mount Isa

Fri, 27 Jul 18 - Sat, 04 Aug 18

Australian Festival of Chamber Music

Chamber music is like listening to, and being part of, a really interesting conversation with friends.

Townsville

Fri, 27 Jul 18 - Sun, 29 Jul 18

Hughenden Country Music Festival

Top entertainment over 3 great days.

Hughenden

Sat, 28 Jul 18 - Sun, 29 Jul 18

Quamby Rodeo

The Quamby Rodeo is a one day event, held on the weekend before the Cloncurry Rodeo. It is run as a true Aussie Bush Rodeo with the emphasis on family and having a great day out.

Quamby

Fri, 03 Aug 18 - Mon, 06 Aug 18

Curry Merry Muster Festival

Join the stampede for the Curry Merry Muster Festival!

Cloncurry

Sun, 05 Aug 18

Atherton Gem Festival

A day full of gem displays and activities.

Atherton

Thu, 09 Aug 18 - Sun, 12 Aug 18

Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo

The Biggest and the Best! For Rodeo action like nowhere else in Australia, be sure not to miss the Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo celebrations.

Mount Isa

Wed, 15 Aug 18 - Sat, 25 Aug 18

Cairns Bluewater Billfish Tournament

Billfish Fishing in Cairns

Cairns

Fri, 24 Aug 18 - Sun, 26 Aug 18

Camooweal Drovers Camp Festival

In the past, Camooweal was a colourful droving centre for the largest cattle drives the world has ever seen. Today, huge transports and road-trains carrying millions of dollars worth of livestock and general goods use the roads.

Camooweal

Sat, 01 Sep 18 - Wed, 31 Oct 18

Morning Glory Cloud Formation

A rare and spectacular meteorological phenomenon that occurs over the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Burketown

Sat, 29 Sep 18 - Sun, 30 Sep 18

Bowen Family Fishing Classic and Wet Weekend

The biggest family fishing competition in the country

Bowen